Kori

imageIMG_0831[1]

First of all, this picture is weird, because it’s two separate pics blended together. I’m not sure what I did or how I did it, but it looks kinda cool, so I’m leaving it this way. The dog on the left is our Shih Tzu, named Kori. The dogs on the right are companion dogs who were visiting the hospital during one of my many stays there.

Kori loves to look out the window. Sometimes I wonder what he sees; I suppose his sense of reality is quite different than ours. Doggy brains don’t discriminate based on race or religion, do they? Well, on second thought, he’d love to go after the mailman, but I’m sure they’d get along after they got to know each other. But when you think about it, nature is pretty cool about all that. Nature doesn’t form strong opinions. There aren’t “ugly” mountains or “tall” trees and “short” trees. Naming and judging stuff is a human trait, and we’re pretty good at it.

I was in the Army back in the early 70s, during the Vietnam war. At the time, I was stationed in Anchorage, Alaska, at Ft. Richardson. When I came back on leave to visit my family, “hippies” at the airport would stare at me and yell anti-war stuff. I felt pretty bad about that, since I wasn’t all that crazy about the war, either. I had a couple of friends who were in Vietnam, and I can guarantee you that they didn’t want to be there. But in the end, all that mattered was how you looked at it.

Kori doesn’t have to worry about any of that. He’s happy as a clam just being a dog. He’s never heard of Vietnam, and he’s never heard of Afghanistan. All he wants in life is to sit in your lap and eat doggy treats. And look out the window…

This entry was posted in Quantum Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kori

  1. Jennifer says:

    Love this post. Talk about putting things in perspective.

Leave a Reply

